States with Constitutional Amendments Banning Gay Marriage

States with constitutional amendments banning gay marriage
        [Editor’s Note: Since this graphic was created in July 2009, Washington (effective June 7, 2012), Maryland (effective Jan. 1,   2013) and the District of Columbia have legalized gay marriage. As of May 10, 2012, gay marriage is allowed in eight US
 (MA, CT, IA, VT, NH, NY, WA, MD) and the District of Columbia and not six states as noted in the graphic above.

31 states have constitutional amendments banning gay marriage as of May 8, 2012 when North Carolina voters approved a
constitutional amendment restricting marriage and civil unions to one man and one woman relationships. Some reports list 30 states
(such as Pew Forums above), and others list 29 (such as the National Council of State Legislators). The difference is because some
consider California, which does have a constitutional amendment banning gay marriage, to still be in play since it is being
challenged in court. Others exclude Hawaii because it has a constitutional amendment authorizing the legislature to limit marriage
to opposite gender couples (which the legislature then did), but it does not have an amendment directly banning gay marriage.]
Source: Pew Forum on Religion and Public Life, "State Policies on Same-Sex Marriage,”, July 8, 2009